Web Standards again – part two

The revised web standards for government became mandatory on October 31st. They are based on the new Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0. While I haven’t noticed a wild flurry of new sites being launched there are some intrepid souls out there attempting to make public sector web sites the best they can be. And since social media are on the standards agenda this is for them, and for anyone who thinks web standards are dead boring and serious.

Meanwhile there are still a few unconverted folks out there. One response we recently got at AccEase was “Our website steering group has decided to hold off on addressing compliance and accessibility during the development phase” There is really no other time you can do it so sadly that probably means never for that web site.

1 Comment

Filed under Information Accessibility, Web Accessibility

One Response to Web Standards again – part two

  1. Wendi Wicks

    Some people’s comments (like the one above)are so gob-smackingly obtuse.

Leave a Reply